Chain Reaction – A Story of Serenity, Courage, and Wisdom

UPDATE:  The first draft of Chain Reaction was completed September 29th and is now with the editors.

Original Post:

I started working on a new book last night. Here is the initial premise.


“Give me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.”

In a world filled with moral ambiguity, liberal idealism, rhetoric instead of conviction, avoidance of personal responsibility, false feelings of entitlement, and educational institutions that seem to focus on the lowest common denominator rather than the highest possible potential of their students, one young woman displays uncharacteristic and unequalled serenity, courage, and wisdom in the face of incredible odds. Follow the journey of Sophie, a women in her early twenties, as she overcomes the mental and physical abuse from her childhood to create a leader, a fighter, and a whole woman who is content only with overcoming the odds and breaking the cycles that would attempt to hold her back from her goals.

This is a different genre that usual for me. I would classify this as Young Adult. But it is a story about someone who has learned critical life lessons. The most important one is this: Our life is defined by the choices we make, not by fate.  No matter what hand we’re dealt, it’s our choice how we play that hand.  We are what we make of ourselves, good or bad.  If we allow someone else to determine what we are, that is still our choice.  We can either live under the chains or break the chains.  The past is just the path that brought us to where we are, not what dictates where we’re going.  We choose the path.

About wbspeirjr

Award-winning author William Speir was born in Birmingham, Alabama in 1962. His first published work is the 2015 "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors." In addition to his artillery manual, William has published 19 novels, including a 9-book action-adventure series ("The Knights of the Saltire Series"), five historical novels ("King’s Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King," and "The Besieged Pharaoh"), one fantasy novel ("The Kingstone of Airmid"), one science fiction novel ("The Olympium of Bacchus 12"), one geo-political thriller ("The Trinity Gambit"), and a stand-alone action-adventure novel ("Shiko Unleashed"). William is a 5-time Royal Palm Literary Award winner: 2014 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "King’s Ransom," 2015 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," 2017 Second Place Published Historical Fiction for "Arthur, King," 2017 First Place Published Historical Fiction for "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," and 2017 First Place Published Science Fiction for "The Olympium of Bacchus 12." William currently serves as the Chief Operating Officer of Progressive Rising Phoenix Press, LLC. For more information about William Speir, please visit his website at
This entry was posted in Synopsis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s