Synopsis of “The Kingstone of Airmid”

THE KINGSTONE OF AIRMID
127,882 Word High Fantasy

 

Since the creation of the world of Alastríona, the disobedient gods have amused themselves by pitting men against each other for sport, but the day is approaching when the final conflict between the tribes of man – and between the obedient and the disobedient gods – will take place to decide the fate of the world.

The gods of Alastríona create the world, but several decide to tarry instead of moving on to create other worlds throughout the universe. The obedient gods, led by AIRMID, try to get the disobedient gods to leave, but the disobedient gods refuse. In the following years, the people of Alastríona divide into tribes, and soon the tribes loyal to the obedient gods and the disobedient gods are at war with each other. Airmid knows that the gods must return to their purpose or risk the destruction of the universe. He creates the Kingstone and hides it, knowing that three orphans will one day find it and use it to convince the gods to leave and to unite the tribes.

Centuries later, ARAWN, AMAETHON, and CERRIDWEN are born on the same day. Orphaned before their first birthdays, they are rescued and raised separately by the elders BELENUS, NEMAUSUS, and TRIDAMUS. From the moment of their birth, forces from the tribes loyal to the disobedient gods hunt the orphans to prevent the Kingstone from being found and the tribes from being united. The three elders protect the orphans and raise them to fulfill their destiny, but the orphans are in constant danger.

Just before their eighteenth birthday, the orphans are brought together for the first time. They set out to find the Kingstone and to meet with the leaders of the tribes loyal to the obedient gods. Forces loyal to the disobedient gods attack them. The orphans and the elders escape, but are relentlessly pursued and ambushed. When the orphans are captured, they must learn to work together to escape from their captors and reach the Kingstone’s hiding place before it’s too late.

Arawn and Cerridwen fall in love during their journey, pledging themselves to each other for the rest of their lives. The elders and the orphans reach the Kingstone’s hiding place, and the power of the Kingstone summons the gods. Arawn, Cerridwen, and Amaethon must convince the gods to either leave Alastríona or cause the universe’s destruction. After a difficult confrontation with the disobedient gods, the orphans, with the help of the Kingstone, succeed.

The orphans and the elders ride to the place where the tribes have gathered to decide who will rule the world, only to find that the tribes loyal to the disobedient gods are attacking the tribes loyal to the obedient gods. With the help of three dragons summoned by Amaethon, the orphans end the battle and bring the leaders of all of the tribes together. The orphans convince the leaders of the tribes to unite their people, bringing peace to Alastríona.

THE KINGSTONE OF AIRMID is a stand-alone coming-of-age novel with the potential to become a series. Subsequent stories will deal with the ongoing adventures of the three orphans as the people of Alastríona begin exploring their world and settling new lands. The first planned sequel is tentatively titled THE DRAGON LORD OF ALASTRÍONA and is in the early stages of development.

This book could be marketed as either an Adult or Young Adult Fantasy, and will appeal to readers of David Eddings’ Belgariad and Malloreon series.

About wbspeirjr

Author of "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors," the 9-book action/adventure series "The Knights of the Saltier," five historical novels ("King's Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King," "The Besieged Pharaoh"), the sci fi novel "The Olympium of Bacchus 12," and the fantasy novel "The Kingstone of Airmid." William is also a 5-time Royal Palm Literary Award winner: 2014 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "King’s Ransom," 2015 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," 2017 Second Place Published Historical Fiction for Arthur, King," 2017 First Place Published Historical Fiction for "Nicaea – The Rise of the Imperial Church," and 2017 First Place Published Science Fiction for "The Olympium of Bacchus 12."
This entry was posted in Synopsis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s