Book Release Announcement: “The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson”


The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson – A Novel of Vikings in Scotland is now available for purchase!

In the latter half of the ninth century A.D., Asbjorn Thorleikson, a young Norseman, prepares to leave Ireland on his first expedition to Britain.  He dreams of glory in battle and returning with tribute from the defeated Britons.  But what is supposed to be a chance for Asbjorn to prove himself as a warrior turns into a fight for survival in a strange land.

Asbjorn’s brother, Bjornkarl, is one of the berserkers, the fiercest of all Norse warriors.  He is also a bully who enjoys tormenting his younger brother.  When Asbjorn captures Caitlin and decides to keep her as his own, Bjornkarl can think of nothing other than to take Caitlin for himself.  Faced with the possibility of losing Caitlin to his brother, Asbjorn allows her to go free.

As the Norse fleet prepares to leave Dumbarton, soldiers from Alba (Scotland) attack.  Asbjorn’s ship is burned and he is captured.  Caitlin intervenes to save his life, and he is given a choice: live with the Albans and renounce his Norse heritage, or die with the rest of the Norse prisoners.  Asbjorn choses to live and is taken back to Alba by Caitlin’s clan.

In the years that follow, Asbjorn adjusts to his new home.  But when Norse raiders attack his village, he is forced to choose between the life he was born to and the life he accepted when he agreed to live with the Albans.

The Saga Of Asbjorn Thorleikson, inspired by a legend from the author’s family, is set during the events that took place during the 870’s AD in Scotland.  Most of the story takes place around Dalriada in modern-day Argyll, Scotland on the banks of Loch Fyne.  The Saga Of Asbjorn Thorleikson is a Semi-Finalist in the 2015 Royal Palm Literary Award for Historical Fiction.

THE SAGA OF ASBJORN THORLEIKSON (ISBN: 978-1-940834-72-6 Hardback, 978-1-940834-71-9 Softback) is available on June 16, 2015.  The book can be ordered through the publisher’s website, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.


About wbspeirjr

Author of "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors," the 8-book "Knights of the Saltier Series," four award-winning historical novels ("King's Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King"), the award-winning sci fi novel "The Olympium of Bacchus 12," and the fantasy novel "The Kingstone of Airmid."
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s