I Have Had Enough of Self-Appointed Know-It-Alls

I started as an author writing non-fiction, and I changed to writing novels later. Why? Because writing non-fiction has challenges that novelists rarely encounter – “know-it-alls.”

My non-fiction book, “Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors,” is based on over 20 years’ experience working with Civil War-related artillery. But there are people out there who are convinced that they are the only ones who are the keepers of “the official versions.” These people do everything in their power to discredit and intimidate anyone who holds to a different viewpoint/experience. I knew that releasing the new edition of my artillery book would expose me to these people once again, and as expected, they couldn’t resist behaving in the same ill-mannered way that they have always treated me.

Fortunately, I don’t now, nor have I ever, cared about what they think of me, but their particular brand of evil is now aimed at hurting my book sales. It’s no longer about my reputation; it’s about my income. When it comes to my books and my livelihood, they are quite insane if they think I’ll take their nonsense sitting down. They have pushed me too far this time, and they had better be prepared for what they’re about to unleash.


About wbspeirjr

Award-winning author William Speir was born in Birmingham, Alabama in 1962. His first published work is the 2015 "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors." In addition to his artillery manual, William has published 19 novels, including a 9-book action-adventure series ("The Knights of the Saltire Series"), five historical novels ("King’s Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King," and "The Besieged Pharaoh"), one fantasy novel ("The Kingstone of Airmid"), one science fiction novel ("The Olympium of Bacchus 12"), one geo-political thriller ("The Trinity Gambit"), and a stand-alone action-adventure novel ("Shiko Unleashed"). William is a 5-time Royal Palm Literary Award winner: 2014 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "King’s Ransom," 2015 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," 2017 Second Place Published Historical Fiction for "Arthur, King," 2017 First Place Published Historical Fiction for "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," and 2017 First Place Published Science Fiction for "The Olympium of Bacchus 12." William currently serves as the Chief Operating Officer of Progressive Rising Phoenix Press, LLC. For more information about William Speir, please visit his website at WilliamSpeir.com.
This entry was posted in Odds and Ends and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s