Fiction vs. Non-Fiction

Someone who knows that I have published a non-fiction work asked me why I prefer to write fiction. My answer was simple.  “When I write non-fiction, I’m writing FACT.  When I write fiction, I’m writing TRUTH.”  Fiction gives me the vehicle to write truth in a fictional (or semi-fictional depending on the story) context.  I can pour all of my beliefs, standards, ethics, and philosophies into fiction, but I could never do that in non-fiction.  So, I will continue to write fiction and pour my truth into each story.

About wbspeirjr

Author of "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors," the 7-book "Knights of the Saltier Series," four historical novels ("King's Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King"), the sci fi novel "The Olympium of Bacchus 12," and the fantasy novel "The Kingstone of Airmid."
This entry was posted in Odds and Ends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

