Sensitivity Editing: What is the World Coming to?

I recently came across the term “Sensitivity Editing,” which is described as sensitivity reading looking for and changing terms that currently have a pejorative subtext (e.g. you “can’t” call food exotic because someone has decided that it’s xenophobic and racially insensitive; someone please explain this to me).

Frankly, this makes my blood boil. I am sick and tired of having to avoid certain words because some group or another has decided to make a fuss and take offence from it when no offence is intended. I will not go back and re-edit my published books to remove an ever-changing list of “forbidden words,” and I will not cave to social pressure to watch how I say what I say in my current books. I have readers all over the world, and what one finds offensive in once place, another finds perfectly acceptable and correct. I will use the words that I think best describe my intent, and if people choose to get offended by those words, then I invite them to not ready my books. But I will never–NEVER–bow to the PC culture because it is a lose-lose scenario. It changes constantly and is both impossible to keep up with and ridiculous to acknowledge as having any validity.

This nonsense has gone too far, and we need to fight it rather than meekly submit to it.

About wbspeirjr

Award-winning author William Speir was born in Birmingham, Alabama in 1962. His first published work is the 2015 "Muzzle-Loading Artillery for Reenactors." In addition to his artillery manual, William has published 19 novels, including a 9-book action-adventure series ("The Knights of the Saltire Series"), five historical novels ("King’s Ransom," "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," "Arthur, King," and "The Besieged Pharaoh"), one fantasy novel ("The Kingstone of Airmid"), one science fiction novel ("The Olympium of Bacchus 12"), one geo-political thriller ("The Trinity Gambit"), and a stand-alone action-adventure novel ("Shiko Unleashed"). William is a 5-time Royal Palm Literary Award winner: 2014 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "King’s Ransom," 2015 Second Place Unpublished Historical Fiction for "The Saga of Asbjorn Thorleikson," 2017 Second Place Published Historical Fiction for "Arthur, King," 2017 First Place Published Historical Fiction for "Nicaea - The Rise of the Imperial Church," and 2017 First Place Published Science Fiction for "The Olympium of Bacchus 12." William currently serves as the Chief Operating Officer of Progressive Rising Phoenix Press, LLC. For more information about William Speir, please visit his website at WilliamSpeir.com.
This entry was posted in Odds and Ends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment